[Skip to Content]
Essay Prize for Foundation Doctors

Awards and Prizes

RCOphth offers a wide range of travel awards and clinical/research fellowships in partnership with other organisations. Names of winners are published annually unless individual opt-out requests are received. All award recipients are required to submit a written report within three months of the completion of their fellowship/research, to be circulated to the RCOphth Education Committee and the awarding body.  Please use the Report Format Guidance.

Plagiarism will result in disqualification.

Please direct any Awards & Scholarship enquiries to education@rcophth.ac.uk .

Open Awards

Closed Awards

  • RCOphth and NIHR Researcher of the Year Awards 2019
  • IGA Award 2019
  • Fight For Sight/Royal Society of Medicine Award
  • The Ophthalmology Clinical Research Training Fellowship
  • RCOphth/NIHR Researcher of the Year 2018
  • BOSU Surveillance Study Bursary
  • The Nettleship Medal 2019
  • The Ulverscroft David Owen Prize 2019
  • Fight for Sight Award 2019
  • Patrick Trevor-Roper Undergraduate Travel Award 2019
  • Sir William Lister/Dorey Bequest Travel Awards 2019
Open Awards – Information to apply Closing Date

Essay Prize for Foundation Doctors 2019

Entries are now invited to the 2019 Essay Prize for Foundation Doctors on the essay “Discuss the impact of multi professional working on eye care”.

The competition is open to all those currently in a UK Foundation Programme (F1, F2) at the time of submission, as well as those who have completed the UK Foundation Programme but have not yet achieved an OST1 post.

Essays of up to 1500 words should be submitted to education@rcophth.ac.uk and the deadline for submission is 5.00pm Monday 7 October 2019.

Further details can be found here.

17.00 Mon 7 Oct 2019

Fight for Sight and RCOphth – John Lee Primer Fellowship Award 2019

Applications are invited for the John Lee Primer Fellowship Award, organised in partnership with Fight for Sight. The award consists of a £60,000 grant for trainee ophthalmologists to pursue ground-breaking vision research and gain exposure to a research environment early in their careers.

Only trainee ophthalmologists who are members of the College are eligible.

It is expected that applications will be submitted by trainees currently affiliated with a UK academic or medical institution and the application will be created in collaboration with a research Mentor.

The application form and further details can be found here.

17:00 Thurs 5 Nov 2019

Ethicon Foundation Fund 2019

Applications are invited for grants from the Ethicon Foundation Fund.

The fund was established by the generosity of Ethicon for the purpose of promoting international goodwill in ophthalmology by providing financial assistance to Fellows, Members or Affiliate Members of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists who are travelling abroad for research or training.  Awards of up to £1,000 will be made at the discretion of the Committee.

Applications will only be considered from those who are Fellows, Members or Affiliate Members of the College who have passed the Refraction Certificate and FRCOphth Part 1.

The application form and further details can be found here.

 17.00 Tuesday 31 December 2019

International Glaucoma Association Award 2020

Applications are invited for the 2020 IGA Award.

This is a postgraduate research award to facilitate research into glaucoma. Applicants may be trainees seeking support for a fellowship or senior researchers seeking a grant for a project.

Applications are invited from departments and individuals based in the UK or Eire but the research studies may be carried out elsewhere.

The IGA encourages patient orientated research and research directly concerned with the improvement of the management of glaucoma.

The IGA Award is awarded to a value of up to £100,000.

Multidisciplinary research teams are encouraged and should include a member/fellow of The Royal College of Ophthalmology but co-applicants (and project lead) may include hospital/community based optometrists and/or nurses undertaking glaucoma research in the UK and Ireland.

The application form can be found here.

1 February 2020

Keeler Scholarship 2020

Applications are invited for the 2020 Keeler Scholarship, the purpose of which is to enable the Keeler Scholar, for the subsequent benefit of ophthalmology in the UK, to study, research, or acquire special skills, knowledge, or experience at a suitable location in the UK or elsewhere for a minimum period of six months.

The scholarship is awarded to a value of up to £30,000.

Applicants must be Fellows, Members, or Affiliates of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists (being of good standing).

The Trustees will give special consideration to candidates intending to make a career in ophthalmology in the United Kingdom.

17.00 Mon 10 Feb 2020