Visit COVID-19 resources

[Skip to Content]

VISION 2020 UK call for nominations for the Astbury Award – deadline 12 Aug 2016

19 July 2016

VISION 2020 UK, the umbrella organisation which leads collaboration and co-operation between organisations with an interest in eye health and sight loss, are calling for nominations for the Astbury Award, named for former VISION 2020 UK Chair and inaugural recipient Nick Astbury.

The VISION 2020 UK Astbury Award is given in recognition of work that fosters excellence in collaboration within the eye health and sight loss sectors.

Last year’s winner, Rachel Pilling, was awarded for excellence in collaboration, working with The Bradford Learning Disability Eye Service. The service has brought together community health, hospital eye services, education, voluntary sector, patients and carers to improve access to eye health for adults and children with learning disabilities. Due to an exceptional entry the judging panel also recognised Andy Cassels -Brown with an award for lifetime achievement.

Nominations are taken from VISION 2020 UK member organisations. However nominees do not necessarily have to work in, or be trustees or volunteers of, the organisation. Nominations are assessed according to impact/outcome by an independent and impartial panel of judges.

VISION 2020 UK CEO, Mercy Jeyasingham, commented, “We are delighted to announce we will once again be recognising the hard work, commitment and dedication of those working in the eye health and sight loss sector. The Astbury Award 2016 will build on the excellent foundation of effective and collaborative working fostered by Nick and last year’s award. We invite representatives from all of our member organisations to join us in celebrating and recognising the benefits of partnership working across the whole sector.”

To submit your nomination, please visit the VISION 2020 UK website:

Closing date for submissions is 12 August 2016.

The closing date for nominations is Friday August 12th. The winner will be notified in August and the award is due to be presented at an event at The Federation of (Ophthalmic and Dispensing) Opticians in London, on Monday 19th September.

Full story of last year’s winners here: