Visit COVID-19 resources

[Skip to Content]

RCOphth and NIHR Researcher of the Year Awards

16 March 2017

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists and The National Institute for Health Research are pleased to announce the launch of a new national award scheme to recognise outstanding contribution to clinical research by Fellows/ Members of the College. The RCOphth/ NIHR clinical researcher of the year award is launched this year, commemorating 10 years of the NIHR Clinical Research Network (CRN).

Applications are sought from Members and Fellows of the College who are engaged in clinical research in the course of their NHS duties. Clinical research is important for the NHS in establishing care standards, generating or confirming evidence for clinical care and developing new therapeutic options for our patients. There are many examples where clinical research in the NHS has helped generate evidence and enhance clinical care to reduce burden of blindness.

The RCOphth in collaboration with the NIHR has developed this award to recognise the important contributions the Fellows and Members of the College make. The awards will be in three categories:

  1. one consultant award for non-commercial research, where a consultant has made a significant contribution to an NIHR portfolio study
  2. one consultant award for Commercial (industry sponsored) research, for contribution to an NIHR portfolio commercial study
  3. one trainee/career grade award for outstanding contribution made by a trainee or career grade ophthalmologist

Each awardee will receive certificate of achievement and complementary registration for the RCOphth Congress for the first three days of the Congress (Monday 22 May to Wednesday 24 May 2017) and will be expected to attend the award ceremony at the RCOphth Annual Congress on Wednesday 24 May 2017 at 11:45 at the ACC Liverpool.

Applicants should be research-active NHS ophthalmologists, Members or Fellows of The Royal College of Ophthalmologists and not hold a substantive academic appointment.

A joint panel of NIHR and RCOphth representatives will judge the winner of the awards.

Closing date for applications is Monday 10 April 2017.