Visit COVID-19 resources

[Skip to Content]

2017 Ophthalmology Honours open for entry

4 May 2017

Bayer’s awards programme, Ophthalmology Honours, is open for entry for a third year running. The awards programme is designed to recognise and celebrate, on an annual basis, the outstanding work being carried out by multi-disciplinary teams in ophthalmology throughout the UK. Supported by the Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB) and Visionary, a membership organisation for local sight loss charities, the awards will identify exceptional initiatives that demonstrate clinical excellence and innovation in ophthalmology.

Commenting on the launch of the 2017 programme, Dr Jackie Napier, Medical Director Ophthalmology, Bayer said: “We are pleased to announce the 2017 opening of the Ophthalmology Honours. This programme is central to the work that we do with the clinical community to transform the lives of people with retinal conditions. There is some exceptional work taking place in ophthalmology across the UK and we look forward to celebrating and sharing these examples to improve the care provided to patients.”

This year’s Ophthalmology Honours programme includes a new category: Best ophthalmology service improvement. This category will help broaden the scope of entries and aligns with recent recommendations within the Royal College of Ophthalmologists’ Three Step Plan to reduce the risk of patients coming to harm due to ineffective services and delayed appointments.

The updated award categories for 2017 will be:

  •         Best ophthalmology team
  •         Best patient support or education initiative
  •         Best ophthalmology service improvement
  •         Outstanding ophthalmology nurse or allied health professional
  •         Ophthalmology unsung hero

Award entries are independently judged by experts in ophthalmology care, which includes the steering committee alongside additional representatives to ensure a multi-disciplinary judging panel. The decision making process is wholly independent of Bayer.

Jenny Nosek, Ophthalmic Advanced Nurse Specialist, Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust and steering committee member said: “I am delighted to be involved in an awards programme that recognises excellence and contributes towards improvements in both service delivery and patient care and experience. The Ophthalmology Honours programme is a unique way of recognising and learning from the exceptional work being carried out by both multi-disciplinary teams and individuals on a daily basis. I would urge anyone involved in the field of ophthalmology to enter and contribute towards sharing best practice amongst the clinical community so we can achieve the best outcomes for patients.”

Entries are welcome from anyone working in the field of ophthalmology in the UK. Submissions and / or nominations are welcome from healthcare professionals, non-clinical staff, charities, patient associations, volunteers and patients. Pharmaceutical company entries will not be accepted.

Commenting on winning the Best Ophthalmology Care Innovation category in 2016, Dr Konstantinos Balaskas, Consultant Ophthalmologist and Medical Retina Specialist, Manchester Royal Eye Hospital said: “Our team was immensely proud to receive the award for Best Opthalmology Care Innovation for a second consecutive year. The proposed system for improving service performance and patient experience in macular clinics has great potentialfor wide implementation in hospital-based Eye Units. Our hope is that it will help address well-established problems relating to complex patient pathways.”

The deadline for applications is Friday 18th August 2017.  Award winners will be announced at the Ophthalmology Honours ceremony, to which all short-listed entrants will be invited, on Wednesday 6th December 2017 at BMA House, London.

Further information on the categories, judging process, judging panel and entry process for the Ophthalmology Honours can be found at