Visit COVID-19 resources

[Skip to Content]

Changes to Local Clinical Excellence Awards

18 April 2018

NHS Employers and the BMA have agreed changes to the Local Clinical Excellence Awards (LCEAs) Scheme. The changes, which are endorsed by the Department of Health and Social Care, state that:

  • trusts must run LCEA rounds from 1 April 2018
  • from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2021, the minimum investment ratio for new LCEA will be set at 0.3 points per eligible consultant

The agreement sees the introduction of a reversion mechanism for any consultant who loses their national CEA after 1 April 2018. They will revert to either a Level 8 LCEA if their score is ≥ 27 or a Level 7 if they score between 14-26. Those consultants who score <14 or who do not submit a national renewal application will not be eligible for a LCEA as part of this reversion mechanism. This is designed to address the problems that we know had been encountered previously for consultants losing their national awards on renewal.

Information is available at