Visit COVID-19 resources

[Skip to Content]

Awards and Prizes

Consultant ophthalmologist Sobha Sivaprasad wins 2019 Nettleship Medal for study highlighting superior alternative to established diabetic retinopathy treatment

Apr 05

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists (RCOphth) is pleased to announce Sobha Sivaprasad, Consultant Ophthalmologist, Moorfields Eye Hospital and Editor of RCOphth’s scientific journal, Eye, as the winner of the 2019 Nettleship Medal after a decade long hiatus for the award. Mr Edward Nettleship was a renowned ophthalmologist known for his work with hereditary eye diseases.

  • 5 April 2019

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists and The National Institute for Health Research launch the 2019 Researcher of the Year Awards

Mar 18

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists and The National Institute for Health Research are pleased to announce the launch of this year’s national award scheme to recognise outstanding contribution to clinical research by fellows /members of the College. Applications are sought from Members and Fellows of the College who are engaged in clinical research in the

  • 18 March 2019

The Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) opens their 2019 round on Thursday 7 February

Jan 10

The 2018 Clinical Excellence Awards Round results were announced in early January 2019. The Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) have now announced that the 2019 round will open on Thursday 07 February 2019 and will close at 1700 hours on Thursday 04 April 2019. Consultants in England and Wales who wish to apply for

  • 10 January 2019

The BOSU Surveillance Study Bursary for an ophthalmologist in Training 2018

Sep 28

With the kind support from The Red Trust and the Ross Foundation the BOSU is once again offering three research bursaries of £6000 to support ophthalmologists in training to undertake an epidemiological study of a rare eye condition through the British Ophthalmological Surveillance Unit or the Scottish Ophthalmological Surveillance Unit. The RED Trust BOSU Bursary–

  • 28 September 2018

30 Years of RCOphth – Essay prize for OST Trainees

Jan 10

To celebrate the College’s 30th Anniversary in 2018, we are pleased to announce that we are running an essay prize for OST Trainees. The competition will be open to all those currently in an OST programme (OST1 -7) and LAT posts at the time of submission. Ophthalmologists are expected to be highly trained, motivated and

  • 10 January 2018