Home » Assessment » Overview


The OST Assessment Blueprint shows how each learning outcome is assessed, but be aware that it is designed to be all-inclusive rather than user-friendly. (Blueprint updated July 2016 – for previous versions please contact the College.)

The second Assessment Blueprint clarifies the mapping of curriculum outcomes to Good Medical Practice.

Broadly speaking, the Learning Outcomes for each domain of clinical practice are assessed as follows:

*WpBAs: work-place based assessments

Domain of Practice Assessment
AERAttitudes, Ethics & ResponsibilitiesWpBA rating scales
BCSBasic & Clinical SciencesPart 1 FRCOphth, Part 2 FRCOphth
CAClinical AssessmentWpBA* rating scales, Part 2 FRCOphth
CCommunicationWpBA rating scales, Part 2 FRCOphth
DMCRJDecision Making, Clinical Reasoning & JudgmentWpBA rating scales, Part 2 FRCOphth
HPDPHealth Promotion/Disease PreventionWpBA rating scales, Part 2 FRCOphth
IHInformation HandlingWpBA rating scales
PIPatient InvestigationWpBA rating scales, Part 1 FRCOphth
PMPatient ManagementWpBA rating scales, Part 2 FRCOphth
CPDPersonal DevelopmentWpBA rating scales
PSPractical SkillsWpBA rating scales, Part 2 FRCOphth
HSRole in Health ServiceWpBA rating scales
SSSurgical SkillsWpBA rating scales