Home » Assessment » Workplace Based Assessments (WpBAs) » Clinical Rating Scale (CRS)

Clinical Rating Scale (CRS)

 CRS  Learning Outcome  Target Year (TYA)#  Assessor*
 CRS1  CA1 Consultation  1 annual review  Cons, Sen. OST
 CRS2  CA2 Vision  1  Cons, Sen. OST, AHP
 CRS3  CA3 Fields  1  Cons, Sen. OST
 CA4 LO removed  N/A
 CRS5  CA5 External eye  1  Cons, Sen. OST
 CRS6  CA6 Pupil  1  Cons, Sen. OST
 CRS7  CA7 Ocular motility  2  Cons, Sen. OST
 CRS8  CA8 IOP  1  Cons, Sen. OST, AHP
 CRS9  CA9 Slit lamp  1  Cons, Sen. OST
 CRS10a, CRS10b

 CRS10c, CRS10d

 CA10 Fundus  2  Cons, Sen. OST
 CRSret  PS2 Retinoscopy (Paeds)  3  Cons, Sen, Optometrist

* Assessors:

  • Cons: consultant ophthalmologist
  • Sen. OST: senior trainee (Year 4, 5, 6, 7)
  • AHP: appropriately trained allied health professional (nurse, orthoptist, optometrist)

# Trainees must have at least 2 satisfactory assessments completed by different assessors by the target year in order to proceed with training. It is expected that the majority of the OST1 LOs listed will have been completed well before the end of the first year by most trainees as they are essential for safe clinical practice. Trainees are encouraged to augment their training portfolio by asking for further assessments at later stages in training, particularly whilst gaining experience in sub-specialty clinics. CRS1 must be re-assessed annually. By the end of training a trainee will have at least 14 satisfactory CRS1 forms in their portfolio (2 per year).